Tag Archives: neutrino

iaps@GranSasso2015 conclusion

After such a long planning, our absolutely amazing days in Italy were extremely rewarding! Just look at this great bunch of people and their smiles, as they stand 1400 meters below the rock at the Gran Sasso National Laboratory:


You can find a selection of pictures and some numbers of the event at this link!

This event, a collaboration between IAPS and the Italian Association of Physics Students (AISF), was an overwhelming success: as organisers, we can say that everything went very smoothly; as participants, we are happy to say that it was a unique experience, extremely educational and fascinating.

Both our visits in Frascati (near Rome) and close to the Gran Sasso Mountain were extremely successful, with many talks given by researchers about superconductivity, laser physics, magnetic confinement fusion, neutrinos, beta-beta decays and dark matter. You can find some pictures and short descriptions of the programme at this link.

The organising committee, composed of Francesco Sciortino and Deividas Sabonis, would like to take the opportunity to thank the IAPS and AISF collaborators, in particular Matthias Zimmermann, Andreea Monteanu, Leon Jurčić and Lucio Maria Milanese. Many thanks also to Dr. Pace (ENEA Frascati) for so kindly welcoming us, and to Prof. Testa, ENEA President, for his financial support.

Our warmest thanks go to the Gran Sasso researchers, who showed the best of their world-class research and a clear interest in sharing their passion with students: Stefano Ragazzi, Eugenio Coccia, Massimo Mannarelli, Alba Formicola, Fausto Chiarizia, Natalia Di Marco, Roberto Aloisio, Matteo Lorenzini, Giulia Pagliaroli, Matthias Junker and all our tour visits and speakers.

iaps@GranSasso – Particle & Astroparticle Physics Spring Programme

Update 29/03/2015, 12:00 (CET): registration for the 2nd turn is now closed. Thanks to all those who applied for a place! We will unfortunately not be able to offer one to everyone, but we hope to satisfy most. The Organising Committee will shortly be in contact with all those who completed the registration form.


IAPS is proud to annouce the first edition of the iaps@GranSasso- Particle & Astroparticle Physics Spring Programme, to be held in Italy in May 2015!

The 2nd round of registration for this event is now open until Sunday 29th of March, at 12:00 (CET). This time, students will only be able to register as “Observers”, i.e. they will not be able to apply to give a talk and/or a poster.

The registration form can be found at http://www.iaps.info/activities/gransasso-particle-astroparticle-physics-spring-programme/iapslngs-registration

The Gran Sasso National Laboratory (LNGS) in Italy is currently the largest underground particle physics lab in the world and focuses on particle and astroparticle physics. It is situated inside the Gran Sasso mountain, below 1400 meters of rock that shield it from cosmic rays.

The Gran Sasso Science Institute (GSSI) is an international PhD School and a centre for advanced studies in physics, mathematics, computer science and social sciences, with a particular focus on astroparticle physics research.

The National agency for new technologies, Energy and sustainable economic development (ENEA) is one of the largest research organizations in Italy. In its Frascati facilities, it hosts laboratories working on superconductivity, inertial confinement fusion and magnetic confinement fusion.

During the Particle & Astroparticle Physics Spring Programme, IAPS will visit these three institutions, as well as the centre of the city of Rome.

You can download the complete description of the iaps@GranSasso – Particle & Astroparticle Physics Spring Programme. Please also see the iaps@GranSasso_LaTeX_template  for general guidelines on abstracts submissions.

Participation fees are fixed at €90.

Please write to Francesco for any question. Further details and updates will be published on this website and on the IAPS Facebook Group.

We looking forward to meeting you in Italy!

—  iaps@GranSasso 2015 Organising Committee —