List of IAPS Members


IAPS counts on its members to collaborate and co-ordinate national and international projects related to Physics. Our current member societies comprises of 15 National Committees (NCs), 19 Local Committes (LCs), and around than 100 Individual Members (IMs).

National Committees

Austria (
Basisgruppe Nawi Physik

Canada (
Canadian Association of Physicists / Association canadienne des physiciens et physiciennes (CAP)

Croatia (
Student Section of the Croatian Physical Society / Studentska sekcija Hrvatskog fizikalnog društva

Finland (
Finnish Association of Physics and Mathematics Students / Suomen fysiikan- ja matematiikanopiskelijat ry (SFMO)

Germany (
German Physical Society / Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG)

represented by its student wing Young German Physical Society / junge Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (jDPG)

Hungary (
Hungarian Association of Physics Students / Magyar Fizikushallgatók Egyesülete (Mafihe)

Italy (
Italian Association of Physics Students / Associazione Italiana Studenti di Fisica (AISF)

Macedonia (
Macedonian Society of Physics Students / Македонско друштво на студенти физичари (МДСФ)

Mexico (
Sociedad Cientifica Juvenil (SCJ)

The Netherlands (
Studenten Physica in Nederland (SPIN)

Norway (
Norwegian Association of Physics Students / Norske Fysikkstudenters Forening Trondheim (NoFFo)

Portugal (
Portuguese Association of Physics Students / Associação Portuguesa de Estudantes de Física (Physis)

Spain (
Spanish Association of Physics Students / Asociación Juvenil Española de Estudiantes de Física (AEEF)

 United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland (
University Student Network (USN), student branch of the Institute of Physics (IOP)

United States (
Society of Physics Students (SPS)American Institute of Physics (AIP)

Local Committees

Ankara, Turkey (
METU Physics Society

Belgrade, Serbia (
Students Alliance Faculty of Physics / Savez Studenata Fizičkog Fakulteta (SSFF)

Bratislava, Slovakia (
Physics Correspondence Seminar (FKS)

Bucharest, Romania (
Association of Physics Students of the University of Bucharest / Asociatia Studentilor Fizicieni din Universitatea Bucuresti (ASF-UB)

Copenhagen, Denmark (
Association of Physics Students of the University of Copenhagen (UNICPH)

Farhangian, Iran (
Farhangian Association of Physics Students

Gdansk, Poland (
Physics Student Research Association

Islamabad, Pakistan (
NUST Science Society

Istanbul, Turkey (
Istanbul Physics Students Society

Kathmandu, Nepal (
St. Xavier’s Physics Council (सेन्ट जेवियसस भौतिकविज्ञान परिषद्, नेपाल)

Krakow, Poland (

Malta (

New Delhi, India (
Decoders of the Cosmic Code / सी.सी.डी. (DCC)

Novi Sad, Serbia (
Klub studenata fizike

 Odense, Denmark (
Student Organisation for FKF / Æter

 Prague, Czech Republic (
Fyzikální korespondenční seminář MFF UK (FYKOS)

 Stockholm, Sweden (
Physics Chapter, THS (Fysiklektionen, KTH)

 Zürich, Switzerland (

Local Committees

 Baguio City, Philippines (
METU Physics Society

Individual Members

Students of physics or related subjects who do not have access to an NC or LC may join as IMs. Only IAPS members may attend IAPS events such as ICPS. Currently IAPS has around 100 Individual Members.

Honorary Members

The following people were elected Honorary Fellows by an IAPS AGM:

  • Sir Arnold Wolfendale
  • Sir Joseph Rotblat (Nobel Laureate), sadly passed away in 2005

The 2005 AGM voted to make the founders of IAPS and ICPS Honorary Members:

  • Patroklosz Budai
  • Tamás Fülöp
  • Ákos Horváth
  • Péter Lévai
  • Péter Ván

Elected Honorary Members by the AGM, for their huge, and continuing, contributions to IAPS:

  • Jim Grozier (2008)